5 Things To Do If Arrested
Aramjoo Law Firm strives to educate, empower and advocate. Please provide the brief information below to be taken to our list of 5 things to do if arrested.
Aramjoo Law Firm LLC provides criminal defense representation to individuals in the Liberty, Kansas City and surrounding areas that have been charged or may be charged with crimes. These crimes can include traffic violations, DUI/DWI offenses, misdemeanors and felonies.
When facing criminal charges, it is important to contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. There are severe consequences to criminal charges and it is crucial that a criminal defense attorney becomes involved in handling the matter as soon as practicable.
Crimes are punishable by fines, imprisonment, or a combination of both. Missouri Chapter 558 provides for the range of punishment for crimes punishable by imprisonment, while Chapter 560 provides for the range of fines. Below is the range of punishment depending on the classification of the offense. It is important to talk with a criminal defense attorney in order to determine what the range of punishment is for a specific offense.
- Class A Felony – 10 to 30 years in prison, or life imprisonment
- Class B Felony – 5 to 15 years in prison
- Class C Felony – 3 to 10 years in prison and/or fines up to $10,000
- Class D Felony – 1 day to 7 years in prison and/or fines up to $10,000
- Class E Felony – 1 day to 4 years in prison and/or fines up to $10,000
- Class A Misdemeanor – Up to 1 year in county jail and/or fines up to $1,000
- Class B Misdemeanor – Up to 6 months in county jail and/or fines up to $500
- Class C Misdemeanor – Up to 15 days in county jail and/or fines up to $300
- Infractions – Fines up to $200
As with many legal actions, the time period for which a prosecutor can file charges is limited by what is know as the statute of limitations. In Missouri, pursuant to Missouri Revised Statute Chapter 556 a prosecutor may be limited in filing the charges depending on the crime. The time periods below are guidelines and exceptions to these guidelines may exist depending on the offense.
- Class A Felony – May be commenced at any time
- Class B, C and D Felony – Must be commenced before 3 years
- Class A, B and C Misdemeanor – Must be commenced before 1 year
- Infractions – Must be commenced before 6 months
Paemon Aramjoo, the criminal defense attorney at Aramjoo Law Firm, won the Terry L. Thomas Trial Practice Award and worked for the Jackson County Prosecutor’s Office for two years while in law school.